DWTS Review Week 9, Judges’ Choice

Another week of traveling, and I am posting the review a whole week late (again). My apologies. I only had my cell phone (no laptop) during this trip, so I saved a roughdraft first. It was a little helpful lol.

Embed from Getty Images
Now we are in the semi-finals of Dancing with the Stars! Did you expect these four to be here? I expected everyone except Noah, honestly. I thought Willow would be in his place, but when she was eliminated a couple weeks ago (I guess I should post elimination show reviews too at some point?), I knew that was no longer a possibility.

Oh, how I love shows when opening numbers are involved! It was so cute and bubbly with the whole bowling theme. I loved all of the pros doing the jive (I think we’ve only seen more “beginner” jives from pros and their celebrity partners this season), so to see something to energetic was a treat!

And now for the dances …

Rumer & Val – Viennese Waltz – “Earned It” by The Weeknd
I liked seeing the package, the honestly she and her family gave. It was pretty surprising. Funny to feature a 10-year-old birthday girl before a dance with the Fifty Shades theme. Rumer had the “Anastasia lip bite” down too. Both of those things happening so close together made me laugh. As for the dancing, it was extremely passionate. You can tell what the characters from the books and movie were like without reading or watching them because they projected the characters so well. Len wanted more content (I thought the amount of content was fine). Julianne liked the execution. Bruno liked that it still had the lyrical quality. Carrie Ann liked the various qualities of the dance.
38/40- Carrie Ann 10, Len 9, Junlianne 9, Bruno 10

Noah & Sharna – Viennese Waltz – “The Time of My Life” by David Cook
Seeing Noah’s story was awesome. The one thing that I really loved about this dance was the fact that his prosthetic leg was not “blended in”, but more featured. I teared up a little bit when he and Shana went back up the stairs and she kept her left leg straight with him. Such a small thing, but it gave me goosebumps. Julianne said there was an ease about the performance and it was so smooth. Bruno said it was beautiful. Carrie Ann said it was incredible to see him have fun. Len said it was his best dance. The proposal was so sweet!
36/40- Carrie Ann 9, Len 9, Julianne 9, Bruno 9

Riker & Allison – Contemporary – “Work Song” by Hozier
I liked seeing Riker’s background because I really didn’t know much about him. I didn’t even recognize him from Glee. I kind of with his Latin dance background was addressed, just to say “it was years ago and I forgot most of it” or something. Oh well. As for the dance: STUNNING. Allison Holker is a contemporary beast. I have been waiting to see a contemporary routine with her since she’s become a pro, and this one did not disappoint one bit. Riker definitely held his own next to her. Bruno said it was even tough for a professional. Carrie Ann basically flipped out. Len said it was a great performance. Julianne said she couldn’t tell who the pro was.
40/40 – Carrie Ann 10, Len 10, Julianne 10, Bruno 10

Nastia & Sasha – Quickstep – “Feelin’ Good” by Christina Grimmie
You see from Nasia’s background that she is such a hard worker. I don’t think they really showed much of her personality until now, at the very end of the season. This routine was definitely more energetic than the other three so far. It was nice to have something upbeat. It looked like a pretty difficult routine too. I loved that “partnered one-handed cartwheel” she and Sasha did together (I’m not sure if there is a more technical term for it lol). Carrie Ann said it was an incredible, a showstopper. Len said it was a terrific dance. Julianne said she now a dancer, not just a gymnast. Bruno said it was a technical tour de force and she was a star.
40/40 – Carrie Ann 10, Len 10, Julianne 10, Bruno 10

DWTS Perfect 10 Tour Preview – I loved it and I wish I was going!

Rumer & Val with Coaching from Bruno – Contemporary – “Swan Theme” from Swan Lake
I am so happy to see Bruno with Rumer & Val. I feel that it was a very appropriate collaboration. I have always wanted to see what can come out of the mind of Bruno (you never know lol). I loved it, it was different from anything I remember being seen on the show. The lift! Len commended Bruno’s concept, Val’s choreography,  and Rumer’s dancing. Julianne did a great impression of Bruno and loved it. Carrie Ann said it was genius and was impressed with all of what Rumer accomplished.
30/30 – Carrie Ann 10, Len 10, Julianne 10

Noah & Sharna with Coaching from Carrie Ann – Paso Doble – “Unstoppable” by E.S. Posthumous
Loved this! Loved the concept, the/his story it represented. Julianne said it was one of the best dances he’s ever done. Bruno loved the execution and shaping. Len said he gave a battle for the finale.
30/30 – Len 10, Julianne 10, Bruno 10

Riker & Allison with Coaching from Julianne – Argentine Tango – “Fur Ellise” by District 78
Surprised to see Julianne dance as much as she did in this routine. It almost felt like a trio dance. Amazing choreography, so sharp. The hat play was a fun touch, but I’m glad they got rid of it early on. Towards the end I was exhausted watching it, I would have personally liked little moments of sloooow rather than bam bam bam all the time. Bruno said he controlled them like a lion tamer. Carrie Ann said he nailed every step with passion. Len
30/30 – Carrie Ann 10, Len 10, Bruno 10

Nastia & Derek with Coaching from Len – Viennese Waltz – “Fall for You” by Leela James
I loved the concept and how personal it was for Len. I saw a really beautiful connection between Nastia and Derek for the first time. What a beautiful song! Carrie Ann loved seeing her vulnerability. Julianne said it was like nobody else existed. Bruno said he is humbled and honored to be in their presence.
30/30 – Carrie Ann 10, Julianne 10, Bruno 10

Coming soon … results show review (eventually haha)!

Leave a comment